News and Events

News about awards and events from around the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Share This Story

Bookmark and ShareBookmark This
EmailEmail Story

Follow CLAS

Subscribe to the CLAS RSS Feed RSS Feed
Become a Fan of the CLAS Facebook Page FACEBOOK
Follow us on Twitter TWITTER


News from Geological Sciences

Professor Thomas S. Bianchi, holder of the Jon and Beverly Thompson Endowed Chair of Geological Sciences, is the principal investigator of a National Science Foundation funded study starting in March, 2014 in which an experimental flood is being created in the Colorado River Delta. This delta near the Arizona-Mexico border has been dry since dams were built upstream in the 1930s and the water was diverted for agriculture. Bianchi and his graduate student Rory Kates will examine how the age and sources (e.g., from soils and/or local vegetation) of dissolved organic carbon will "fuel" the production of greenhouse gases, which will be measured by other team members.


News from Geological Sciences

Paintings by BFA painting students Josiah Lloyd and Jenna Horner can now be seen inside Williamson Hall, home to the Department of Geological Sciences. The works were designed as part of a competition for UF undergraduate painting students sponsored by the Department. Students in Associate Professor of Painting and Drawing Julia Morrisroe's site-specific painting class each worked with individual Geological Sciences faculty members to create art based on the professors' research interests. Lloyd's proposal won the competition and his large painting entitled "Prairie Horizontals" was unveiled in the building's entranceway on February 7, 2014. Two smaller paintings by student Jenna Horner were also purchased by the Department and are displayed in the second floor hallway.


News from the Samuel Proctor Oral History Program

The Gainesville Sun recently did an article about StoryCorps coming to North Florida. SPOHP is connecting students and immigrant groups to the organization.

"Keep Your Trash" 1971 Documentary on Memphis Sanitation Workers Strike

Newly Released for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Celebrations on UF Digital Collections

Award-winning PBS documentarian Churchill Roberts was a doctoral student at the University of Iowa in 1971 when he produced the first documentary film recounting events of the historic 1968 Memphis Sanitation Workers strike and assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Four decades after its original release, "Keep Your Trash" is now newly digitized and available on the UF Digital Collections through the Samuel Proctor Oral History Program and George A. Smathers Libraries.
More information

Mississippi Freedom Project Interviews to be Available on University of Florida Digital Collections for MLK Celebration, Freedom Summer Anniversary

On January 22, 2014, George A. Smathers Libraries and the Samuel Proctor Oral History Program will release the first round in a series of oral history interviews with civil rights veterans of the Mississippi freedom movement for UF's week of celebration surrounding Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. The collection, "The Mississippi Freedom Project," will be available online through UF Digital Collections at
More information

Around the College 2013 >>
Around the College 2012 >>
Around the College 2011 >>
Around the College 2010 >>

top >>

CLAS Navigation

News, Calendar of Events, Head of the CLAS, Submit News/Event, Media


CLAS Portals


College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

2014 Turlington Hall
P.O Box 117300
Gainesville FL 32611
P: 352.392.0780
F: 352.392.3584