ALUMNI CLASnotes Fall, 1999


CLAS Awards Ten Term Professorships

Return to CLAS Donor Report

"I enjoy my profession," says Gibson Term Professor Leann Brown, who teaches courses in international political economy, international politics, and US foreign policy. Brown published Developing Countries and Regional Economic Cooperation (Praeger) in 1994 and is currently investigating environmental policy change and decision-making processes of the European Union. "Research and teaching are rewards in themselves," she says, "but it is nice to have my efforts acknowledged. And the Robin and Jean Gibson Term Professorship is particularly gratifying in that it was unexpected and unsolicited. I very much appreciate the Gibsons' commitment to quality education, CLAS and UF."

Robin Gibson (Poli Sci, '59; Law, '62) and Jean Haeseker Gibson (Math, '61) funded the endowment in 1995. With smart investing by the Foundation, their original gift has grown to be able to fund two term professorships each year.

One of the CLAS "It's Performance That Counts" campaign goals is to raise money for 20 term professorships. These awards, funded entirely by private sources, allow the College to recognize faculty who excel in both scholarship and teaching. Each term professor receives a one-year salary supplement of $5,000 and $1,000 in research support. This year the College was able to award 10 professors, up from six last year and three in 1997. Besides Brown (above) the 1999-2000 CLAS Term Professors include:

Andres Avellaneda (Romance Languages and Literatures)
Herb and Catherine Yardley Term Professor

Steve Benner (Chemistry)
Townes R. Leigh Commemorative Term Professor

David Hackett (Religion)
Delton L. Scudder Commemorative Term Professor

Elizabeth Lada (Astronomy)
Dr. David Williams Term Professor

Linda Lombardino (Communication Sciences and Disorders)
Ruth McQuown Commemorative Term Professor

Michael Miyamoto (Zoology)
Robin and Jean Gibson Term Professor

Michael Perfit (Geology)
Edward R. Flint Commemorative Term Professor

Padgett Powell (English)
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Commemorative Term Professor

Barbara Zsembik (Sociology)
T. Lynn Smith Commemorative Term Professor

Leann Brown

Return to Index