Faculty Research Continues to Attract National Attention


John Moore was elected chair of the Anthropology Section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He also received $26,000 from the National Science Foundation to host the conference, Explaining Global Human Diversity.

Leslie Lieberman is the 1996 Medalist of the Florida Academy of Sciences.

Maxine Margolis received a Fulbright Senior Lecturer/Researcher Award to study in Rio de Janeiro.

For 1995, the National Research Council ranked the department sixth among anthropology departments at all public universities, the highest ranking achieved by any department on campus.


The Astronomy Department is involved with the most significant infrared mission of this decade-the Infrared Space Observatory, a European mission launched in November 1995. It observes planets, moons, asteroids and comets to diagnose their chemical constituents.

Initiated by Chair Stan Dermott, the department has built the only laboratory of its kind to study dust particles and how they affect and produce light in the universe.

H. K. Eichhorn was honored by the International Astronomical Community by having an asteroid named after him. The citation reads: Asteroid (4297) Eichhorn: Named in honor of Heinrich Karl Eichhorn (b. 1927), Austrian-American astronomer, educator and scholar, innovator in the astronomy of stellar positions and motions. He developed the central-overlap and other astrometric reduction methods that greatly improve their rigor, increasing the precision of stellar parallaxes and proper motions and thus also the distance scale of the universe. Name proposed by A. R. Upgren.

Graduate student Tim Spahr discovered the asteroid 1996JAI, which missed hitting the Earth by only 280,000 miles.


James Winefordner received the 1996 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry by the Eastern Analytical Symposium. He also received the ninth Robert Boyle Medal in Analytical Chemistry from the Council of the Analytical Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Robert Kennedy received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. It is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers.

Ken Wagener received the 1996 Southern Chemist Award by the Memphis Section of the American Chemical Society.

Bethany Bechtel received a Fulbright Research Grant for the 1995-96 academic year from the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.

Russ Bowers, a National High Magnetic Field Laboratory faculty member, was awarded a National Science Foundation Career Award.

Daniel Talham is one of 168 scientists from 32 countries to receive grants from NASA to conduct ground- and space-based microgravity research.


David Young's book, The Modern Olympics: A Struggle for Revival, uncovers the truth behind many Olympic myths. His research has been mentioned on several TV and radio news shows and in numerous newspapers throughout the country and in Canada.

Communication Processes & Disorders

Kenneth Gerhardt received the 1996 Outstanding Clinician of the Year Award from the Florida Speech-Language and Hearing Association.


R. Allen Shoaf, alumni professor of English, received the 1996 Outstanding Teacher Award in the annual competition sponsored by the South Atlantic Association of Departments of English.


Cesar Caviedes received the 1995 Preston E. James Eminent Latin Americanist Career Award.


Neil Opdyke was selected the 1996 John Adam Fleming Medalist for his original research and technical leadership in paleomagnetism and paleoclimatology. He also was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of only six UF faculty to hold such an honor.

Douglas Smith was awarded the Legion of Merit by the Secretary of the Navy for his work in landmine detection research.

Ellen Martin received the Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation. She will receive $293,000 over the next five years for her research on Atlantic Ocean circulation.

Germanic & Slavic Languages and Literatures

Helga Kraft received a Fulbright Research Grant to conduct research on the 19th century theater culture in German-speaking culture.


The African American Heritage of Florida, edited by David Colburn and Jane Landers, received the Rembert W. Patrick Prize for the best general book on Florida.

Frederick Gregory received a $5,000 grant from the Templeton Foundation to support a new course on the history of science and religion.

Robert Zieger received the Philip Taft Labor History Prize for his book, The CIO: 1935-1955.


M. J. Hardman received the 1996 AHA Distinguished Service Award. She also received the Humanist Educator of the Year Award from the Humanist, Freethought and Atheist Groups.


Jonathan King received the 1995 Lester R. Ford Award from the Mathematical Association of America for expository writing.


David Reitze received a Cottrell Scholarship Award, which is typically granted to young scientists for their pioneering research and teaching.

Political Science

Leslie Anderson's book, The Political Ecology of the Modern Peasant, won an "Outstanding Academic Book Award" for 1995-96 from CHOICE magazine. She also received a $100,000 grant from the political section of the National Science Foundation to study democratic development in Latin America.

The Science, Technology and Environmental Politics research section of the American Political Science Association selected Albert Matheny's book Democracy, Dialogue and Environmental Disputes to receive its 1996 book award.

The international development and relief organization Oxfam America selected Steven Sanderson to its board of directors.


Greg Neimeyer is the first UF faculty to receive the Holland Award, which is given in recognition of the collective impact of a professor's program of research on the field of counseling psychology.


Philip Williams (Political Science) and Anna Peterson (Religion) received $298,000 from the Religion Program of the Pew Charitable Trusts to examine ways Christianity helps Peruvians and Salvadorans understand and respond to the effects of political/economic crises in Latin America and the U.S.

Miriam Peskowitz received a fellowship from the American Counsel of Learned Societies to study Jewish women's history in Roman antiquity.

Romance Languages & Literatures

William Calin was awarded a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies for 1996-97.


Jay Gubrium received the 1996 Distinguished Scholar Award from the ASA Section on Aging. He also has been appointed to a three-year term on the editorial board of the American Sociological Review.

Mike Radelet received "The Peacemaker of the Year Award" from the Center for Peace Studies at the University of Missouri.

Joe Feagin and Hernan Vera received the 1996 Gustavus Myers Outstanding Work on Civil Rights Award for their book White Racism: The Basics.

Gordon Streib received the Distinguished Career Contribution to Gerontology Award from the Gerontological Society of America.


Andre Khuri and Malay Ghosh ranked among the top 100 most prolific authors in the world, according to a study by the National Science Foundation. UF ranked 24th out of 300 institutions for its research productivity according to this study, making it 19th among U.S. universities and 12th among public universities.


Harvey Lillywhite was awarded a renewal of a Senior Research Associateship from the National Research Council.