CLAS Awards 12 Term Professorships

Term professorships are used to reward outstanding CLAS faculty who excel in both scholarship and teaching. These professorships, funded entirely by private sources, allow the college to recognize faculty who are making a significant difference in the classroom as well as through their scholarship. Faculty cannot apply for a term professorship and do not know they are even being considered for this recognition, making it a special award. Each term professor will receive a one-year supplement of $5,000 in salary and $1,000 in research support. This year, owing to the continued success of the campaign, CLAS was able to award twelve professorships, up from ten last year and six in 1998.


Among those who received this award is Lauren L. Chapman from zoology. She is the David L. Williams Term Professor and her current research in East Africa focuses on the role of wetlands in the maintenance of fish faunal structure and diversity.


Raymond Gay-Crosier from romance languages and literatures is the Delton L. Scudder Commemorative Term Professor and is currently involved in three projects: a book-length critical introduction to Albert Camus's The Stranger, a special issue of the Revue des Lettres Modernes on The Rebel, and contributions to the revamped Pléiade edition of Albert Camus's complete works in four volumes.


Christine Sapienza, who works in communication sciences and disorders, is the Herb and Catherine Yardley Term Professor. She has presented her work at numerous national and international conferences and is currently studying the effects of a muscle-strengthening program on the speech of ventilator-dependent spinal cord-injured patients.

The other nine professors who received this special award are:

  • Paul Avery (Physics)
    John C. Slater Commemorative Term Professor
  • Robert Baum (Philosophy)
    Dr. David Williams Term Professor
  • Michael Binford (Geography)
    Robin and Jean Gibson Term Professor
  • George Casella (Statistics)
    Arun Varma Commemorative Term Professor
  • Frank O. Futterknecht (Germanic and Slavic Languages)
    Robin and Jean Gibson Term Professor
  • Alice Harmon (Botany)
    Michael Zerner Commemorative Term Professor
  • Michael Moseley (Anthropology)
    Edward R. Flint Commemorative Term Professor
  • Greg J. Neimeyer (Psychology)
    Elmer P. Hinckley Term Professor
  • Maureen Turim (English)
    O. Ruth McQuown Commemorative Term Professor

Return to Index